Tit for tat

I was walking on Laxmi Road in Pune. A heard a man started shouting in a very loud voice at his wife the moment they walked out of a shop. He was so loud that it drew attention of everyone in the vicinity.
Laxmi Road is a big shopping area like Gariahat Market in Calcutta, only much larger. Here one can also find beautiful old resting houses with beautiful architectures made by the Peshwas and still used by people for taking rest during summer.
Generally, when husband and wife go for shopping together I always found that the husband looks gloomy as if a sacrificial goat is being pulled towards the sacrificial ground. And the wife looks so happy that she could tolerate her gloomy husband for a while.
So I was expecting that the lady will retaliate any moment, I was kind of holding my breath. But I could not hear her breaking the silence at least for the next five minutes or so after which I lost track of them due to crowd.
I heard this from my dad about his parents. My grandma was very temperamental. She used to beat her three sons black and blue almost regularly and used to scold her husband every single day without any exception.
And my grandpa used to wait for the right moment to take revenge. Whenever they used to visit some relative my grandpa used to scold his wife in front of their host and she used to maintain complete silence probably out of decency but immediately upon return to their own home she used to start “now come on……” and her husband used to maintain total silence, as usual, waiting for the next visit to another relative’s house.

 

Author: Mintu Ghoshal

Follow him on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mintu.ghoshal.9

Leave a Reply

