Train Journey in Switzerland

I was travelling in a train at Bern in Switzerland. Bern is the city where Prof. Albert Einstein was working as a patent clerk while he was also working on his special theory of relativity all by himself. The office building where he used to work is visited by many tourists every day.
A young boy who was sitting facing me was reading a local newspaper and having donuts from a packet. Suddenly he realized that I was sitting in front of him and he immediately offered me donuts. I refused with thanks. Suddenly he tried to draw my attention to some news item in the newspaper. I looked at the picture which was printed along with the news; probably it was some news about some movie, and he started talking in German. At that time I did not know even a single word of German.
There is a huge population of Swiss people, mostly located in Geneva and surrounding areas who speak French and they are mostly engaged into watch manufacturing and other technological work, they migrated from France long ago. German speaking Swiss people are mostly engaged into farming, dairy, and cheese making business. There could be some crossover of course.
When the boy tried to speak to me I felt terrible, the boy was so well mannered and I could not understand anything what he was trying to say. Even though many Swiss people can speak good English but this boy probably did not know English.
I decided to learn German. I tried but I could not, as usual, because I have no patience and I am also very lazy. But I learnt that English language originated from German or to be more accurate from low-German, because it was spoken by lower income group people belonging to the lower class of the society; whereas German language originated from high-German, spoken by high income group people belonging to the upper class of the society.

 

Author: Mintu Ghoshal

Follow him on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/mintu.ghoshal.9

Leave a Reply

